In 2019 Arizona altered their statute of limitations on child sex abuse to allow sexual abuse survivors more time to pursue justice for their abuse in civil court. Statute of limitations are the time limits placed on individuals to initiate legal proceedings, time limits that usually start from the date of the alleged offense. However, for sexual abuse cases, standard time limits to pursue legal action can be far too short or limited.
Survivors of sexual abuse and advocates for sexual abuse victims say the average statute of limitations across the country do not account for the fact that it can take sexual abuse survivors years, if not, decades to face their abuse, let alone pursue legal action for it. So, only recently have states across the country started to extend their statute of limitations on sexual abuse. In 2019, Arizona become one of under a dozen states who have passed new legislation to help sexual abuse survivors have their day in court.
In May 2019 Arizona state legislature passed new laws that not only extend the time limits to file sexual abuse lawsuits but opened a “look back” window that completely removed the statute of limitations for a nineteen-month period. These new laws may mean thousands of survivors of sexual abuse in Arizona have a renewed chance to pursue justice for their abuse. If you were sexually abused as a child in Arizona, you may now have the opportunity to file a claim for your abuse. Connect with us today for your free, no-obligation case evaluation to learn if you may be entitled to compensation for your abuse.
Previously, sexual abuse survivors in Arizona had only two years from their 18th birthday to file a lawsuit against an alleged sexual predator or organization that enabled the sexual predator. This time frame did not allow for victims of sexual abuse who confronted their abuse as they grew older any options to pursue justice for their abuse, forever removing their right to civil justice. However, under Arizona’s new laws, sexual abuse survivors now have 12 years from their 18th birthday to file a lawsuit for sexual abuse or until they turn 30 years old. This 30-years-old limit doesn’t not apply to claims revived under Arizona’s nineteen-month “look back” window.
In addition to the age extension, Arizona opened a nineteen-month “look back” window, allowing past sexual abuse survivors a chance to file a claim for their abuse. A “look back” window is a period of time where the state eliminates the time limits on filing claims for sexual abuse. This means that no matter your age or if the past statute of limitations considered you “ineligible” to file a claim, you can bring forward your claim during this nineteen-month period of time. Arizona’s “look back” window started June 1, 2019 and ends December 31, 2020. Arizona sexual abuse survivors need to come forward now, or their chances for justice may be removed forever.
There are some exceptions to Arizona’s new statute of limitations, notably in relation to governmental and public entities. Exceptions to Arizona’s statute of limitations include the following:
When confronting sexual abuse and deciding to pursue legal action, it is important to have an experienced sexual abuse attorney on your side to make sure your rights are protected and you have every chance at getting maximal compensation. At AVA Law Group, we connect you to sexual abuse lawyers who not only have the track records of success for clients, but have the experience necessary to make sure your case is handled with the best of care. If you were sexually abused in Arizona, we are here for you and want to be your advocate in your time of need.
Connect with us today for your free, no-obligation case evaluation. We have legal representatives standing by 24/7 to discuss your legal rights and support you in your time of need. Call today at 1.866.4.AVALAW.